Thread: Terrain Navigator Standard and Windows 7

Default Terrain Navigator Standard and Windows 7

I have an old copy of Terrain Navigator Standard Edition (Version 4.05, which I have been updating regularly for many years) and was unable to install it on a new computer with Windows 7, which, I am told, will soon become the standard.

The solution, as it turned out, was easy and free; the steps follow below:

Go to the MapTech/MyTopo website at
    http://maptech.mytopo.com/land/TerrainNavigator/index.cfm

Click "Downloads"

Look for "Version 8.71 is available for download for Terrain Navigator Standard Edition," and and click the highlighted "Terrain Navigator Standard Edition"

That will lead you to a long page that asks you to register, which is quick and free if you have not already done so.

Once you’re registered, you’ll arrive at a page that features: "Download Terrain Navigator 8.71 Standard Edition"

Click the highlighted "Terrain Navigator 8.71 Standard Edition" Version 8.71 will then be installed and an icon placed on your desktop. You will also have the option to download and install Google Earth, which I recommend you do, as Terrain Navigator 8.71 is capable of integrating with it.

After that, you’re in business - you need only install the disks just as if you’d purchased a new set.

I do not claim to be computer tech savvy; these were the instructions I was given by Tech Support at MapTech/MyTopo and they worked like a charm.

Dick

Default Re: Terrain Navigator Standard and Windows 7

As a reminder, this same software update works fine if you are still running Vista. I updated from Version 7 a while back. It requires registration with mytopo if you haven't previously and you have to download it from your account tab. I bought my first state set, vers 5.5 in '02 and Mytopo has been great with updates IMO.

The new Google sync feature in 8.71 is outstanding!
    Last edited by elmbow; 05-03-2011 at 04:59 PM.