PDA

View Full Version : In-line cleaning after using 777 and sabots?

4214chip
05-30-2005, 06:01 AM
I have some muzzleloading questions for you guys. I am new to the front-end stuffers, just got a .50 cal. T/C Omega, so please don't laugh too loud at my questions...I understand that the 777 fouling can be cleaned using only water as a solvent on the cleaning patches. What do guys recommend to remove the plastic sabot fouling from the bore? After how many shots should the plastic fouling be removed? I have also been told to wet-patch between each shot while working up loads. How wet should those patches be-damp, soaked?? What do you recommend for a bore lube after cleaning? I plan to remove all lube from the bore prior to each shooting session as the Omega manual recommends having a dry bore when shooting sabots.

What have you found to be a good bullet for elk? I am considering the Hornady 300gr SST and the Barnes Expander MZ 285 Spitfire. I'll see which ones shoot the best from my rifle. Any other bullet recommendations? I have used and reloaded centerfire rifles for nearly 35 years, however this muzzleloading is NEW to me. I am open to any suggetions/advice that you folks are willing to share with me. Thanks in advance for your help.

4214chip

Smokepole
05-30-2005, 07:21 AM