PDA

View Full Version : Small Caliber Muzzleloader Loads

Smokepole
04-24-2005, 02:19 PM
I have a .32 caliber muzzleloader barrel for my Hawken on order, and I've been trying to get some loading info. It's a Green Mountain barrel, 1-in 48 twist. There's not much info. out there with all the emphasis on big game loads, and the few references I've found suggest starting with 25 or 30 grains of powder. Anybody out there have any experience with a .32? I'll be shooting .310 round balls, mostly for squirrels.

Patrick
04-24-2005, 02:44 PM
Smokepole--

I've no experience with 32 cal. But perhaps it'll do some good if I pass this on to you: I used quite successfully 30 gr. of powder for small game loads behind a round ball in my fifty four caliber Renegade. So if I were out for squirrel with a 32, I might see how 15gr. performed, as a start. Make sense? I'll bet it brings 'em down quick, but with no meat damage. Which I suspect is the goal.

ozarkrambler
04-24-2005, 06:34 PM
Smokepole, I think Patrick is about right with his load recomendation. I have never used a 32 before but I have shot thousands of 36 cal. through my T/C Seneca and I used about 20-25 gr of FFF. This load can still be pretty hard on things if you don't hit them in the head. 28-33 gr in a 36 will blow the head clean off of a rabbit, I guess this is all right but it kind makes things a mess to carry. I also used a 36 cal maxi. over about 38-40 gr of FFF and it was a pretty fair turkey load and I would have no problem using it on deer out to 50 yards if you could get a clear shot behind the leg.

Let us know how the 32 works, I was always afraid a person would have fouling problems with the small bore but I have never talked to anyone who actually had one.

Dan

Smokepole
04-25-2005, 06:42 AM