PDA

View Full Version : Using 8-Man Tipi at USFS/NPS Campgrounds

chambero
05-09-2005, 02:49 PM
Has anyone tried fitting one of these in "regular" campgrounds like the USFS or NPS has? I'm wondering if they would fit at all for use on family camping trips.

Trying to make the final decision between an 6 or 8 man. 6 would be fine for my hunting trips, but want to be able to fit the wife and two boys on family summer trips.

BrooklynBen
05-09-2005, 04:42 PM
I would think it would rather rare if an 8 man WOULDN'T fit easily in any of the camp sites issued by the Forest or Park Services. But I'm no expert on 'campgrounds'.

I've also been strugling in my mind between the 6 and 8 man for myself. But I'm only thinking of two men plus equipment!! For the two or three pounds extraw to have the luxury space, would seem like a good trade off. (I'm also looking at my upcoming Tipi purchase as an excellent natural/national disaster shelter option as well.)

So obviously I would think the you'd be happier in the long term with the 8 man. It's most likely your boys will grow up into full size 'campers' before your tipi wears out, so you might think of that as well.

That's only my two cents, but it has been my observation here on the forum that a number of guys have moved toward buying larger tipis but very few (if any I can remember) moving toward trading down to a smaller size.

Dave R.
05-09-2005, 05:33 PM
Chambero,

I have used my 4 man in NFS and NP campgrounds...the only draw back is that most of the campgrounds have finely ground stone or dirt to pitch your tent on. This gets to be a little messy...dust and grime every where...its much better on a natural forest floor. You should be able to get an 8 man to fit most campsites...remember you can go out of bounds of the pitch zone a little because you have no floor to deal with.