PDA

View Full Version : Recommend a pack

napeequa55
03-01-2016, 03:38 PM
I'm new to Kifaru - there's a lot to learn here.

Apparently these products are very durable because there's a confusing blend of older, discontinued packs, new or older generation packs, tactical vs. hunting vs. ultralight packs, and customized variations of all of them.

I'm looking for a little help wading through it all. So maybe you'll humor me and recommend something. I've already seen recommendations to call Aaron at Kifary and chat with him for a bit. I'll definitely do that - but I want to do my due diligence first before I start wasting his time or that of his team.

I'm going to buy a duplex hunting frame.

I'm planning to use it mostly for Mule Deer and Black Bear backcountry hunting - eventually maybe elk in a few years. I travel pretty light and don't stay out for more than 3-4 days at a time usually. I don't see myself needing a bag capacity of more than 5,000-6,000 cubic inches. I like a little organization but not tactical-level pouches and pockets. I hunt in Washington State - so waterproof/resistant is necessary.

I don't mind buying used, or previous generation bags - but they need to be at least mostly compatible with the latest generation of the Duplex frame.

Recommend a pack to me!

Thanks for the help all!

lineman78
03-01-2016, 04:27 PM