PDA

View Full Version : Another ? for Dick Blust

Skeeter
10-10-2004, 09:41 PM
Dick,

I have the National Geographic Topo program and just got the Brunton Combi compass you mentioned.

Two questions. I am a military pilot and am quite familiar with UTMs as the guys we are protecting on the ground use them extensively for targeting. A much superior and quicker system than Lat/Longs. We use WGS84 vs NAD27 though as long as your GPS and map are in the same coordinate reference, everything will work out okay. Correct?

Second question. I printed out a map using your system (7.5" - 1:24,000 at 48%)and got a much bigger UTM grid than the 1:50,000 scale on the compass. To get the UTM scale to work I had to reduce the map to 31% and then the detail is so small it is hard to work with. What am I doing wrong??

Excellent essay and waiting expectantly for part 2!! Thanks, Skeeter

ggaff
10-10-2004, 10:06 PM
I have the same TOPO! program and 30% seemed to fit the 1:50,000 scale better for me. Yes, the detail is very small but it worked ok this weekend while I was hunting a new area. I worked with the map on the standard size on my computer to create my waypoints, routes and glassing locations and then reduced it.

Gary

Dick Blust
10-11-2004, 05:43 AM
Skeeter,

First question first: You're correct, the Map Datum setting for your GPS must always match the Map Datum used for your maps. The "store-bought" USGS topos are virtually all NAD 27 (I've never seen one that wasn't), thus, if you're using these, your GPS must be set for NAD 27. (Some GPSs, especially the Garmins, offer options within NAD 27 - with one of these, if you're in the lower 48, use NAD 27 CONUS; if in Alaska, use NAD 27 ALASKA) I don't know offhand which datum the National Geographic program uses; I'd strongly suggest a quick email to them to find out; the program itself may allow you to choose between the two. If so, once again, match everything up.