PDA

View Full Version : Hunting Blacktails in Northern CA

CA Outback Newbie
07-31-2004, 10:22 PM
Gents,

How many of you gentlemen hunt blacktail deer, specifically in the Northern California area?

Actually, I understand blacktail hunting is pretty similar regardless of where so if you hunt them in OR or WA I would be interested to know as well.

I am new to the whole Blacktail game having grown up hunting mulies. I get stumped on the really thick Pacific coast forests. Water is everywhere, so you can't hunt water holes. Food is limited since the forest is so thick and the Envirowackos won't hardly let any clear cutting be done to rejuvenate the forest areas. Spot and stalk is impossible if you can't see through the forest blanket. There seem to be a jillion game trails thorugh the forest too, so setting up on a game trail seems about as fruitful as hunting water (seems to be a spring in every draw).

Any and all clear cuts or burn areas are besieged by other hunters during the season, so the animals disappear quickly.

Obviously I am struggling with this so any thoughts are appreciated...

siskiyous5
08-01-2004, 09:39 AM
The Hunting California B Zone thread has some good info on this subject.