PDA

View Full Version : pack decisions... weight, capacity

Jay03
07-05-2013, 01:01 PM
Hi, I have been hunting for about 17 years but this year I want to take the plunge into backpack hunting and just stay out where I hunt at night instead of hiking 10-15 miles a day getting to and from hunting. I would rather spend those miles searching... anyway. I am getting ready to pull the trigger on a pack and have a few question. I would like to just buy one of each from kifaru(like most im sure) but for now just one... So I am curious from the more experienced, is buying a pack like the DT3 and adding pockets, pods, and extras make more sense or would one be better off getting a bigger bag like the long hunter to begin with. Heres my reasoning... My hunts will be 1-4 nighters with trips back to a main camp or truck. More like spike camps i guess.. so I dont figure I will need the biggest bag offered.. but with all the adjustablility and modularity of these packs I thought I could take a bag like the DT2 or 3 and add volume if I need it. And compress it down for use as a day pack if need be as well. But will adding all the extras increase the weight enough to just make getting a bigger bag make more sense. I assume the bigger bags can also be compressed down a bit. but would they then be to bulky and akward? I guess in the future if I find myself staying longer and going farther I could always get a DT1 or long hunter... thats my reasoning for the duplex bag. So I guess for now if you had to have just one to begin with, which pack? and how would you set it up? ... extras and stuff like that.