PDA

View Full Version : Express for fast packing

11bravo
03-12-2013, 09:24 PM
Greetings - new guy here. I'm interested in a small pack for overnight (2 nights max probably) fast packing and the Express looks to me like a good one. I'm new to fast packing and wondered if anyone has any experience running/rucking with this pack? It looks like it has the lumbar and waist belt support I'd want - so many small volume bags fail in that area.

Any other Kifaru bags that would also serve for this application?

Didn't see anywhere else more appropriate to ask this than General Discussion.

Thanks for any help.

walkingxthunder
03-12-2013, 09:28 PM
You might want to look into the Xing, if you can hold off on your purchase for a couple of weeks. Also, if you're trying to go light, the hunting line Spike Camp is the 500d version of the Express.

11bravo
03-12-2013, 09:37 PM
Sorry - what is Xing? Thanks for the tip on the Spike Camp, but I see that they both weigh the same amount.

steveb
03-13-2013, 08:59 PM
The Spike Camp is lighter. The listed weight includes the belt for the Spike but not the Express. You can make it lighter still with the composite stay option. If you want to really minimize the weight, have a look at the KU2200 Ultralight series pack.

Tevo
03-14-2013, 06:00 AM
I have a Molle Express for 2-3 day excursions and love it. I ran with it the other day loaded to 25lbs and it was very, very secure. That said, fast packing generally implies fast ultralight travel...I'm not sure the Express really falls into that category. Honestly, as much as I love Kifaru, I'm not sure any of its offerings are particularly well suited for overnight fast packing if ultralight is the goal. The KU line is, IMO,the best UL gear on the market for carrying a load, but for overnighters they're a bit overkill. Just my two cents.

lawnboi
03-14-2013, 06:36 AM
Iv got the spike camp legacy, it comes in at 3lb 8oz with the UL stays and belt. Very light pack imo for what it is.