PDA

View Full Version : gunbearer

EyeDoc
04-25-2003, 05:53 PM
I recently used the Spikecamp with the gunbearer on an Alaskan brown bear hunt and experienced some difficulty with stability of my rifle. Any suggestions

Levi
04-26-2003, 05:55 AM
Eyedoc, I don't have a Spike Camp, but do use a gun bearer on one of Patrick's older packs(Predator). I've been using it for two years and would dread the idea go back to the old sling mounted carrying system. However, at first it did take me about 45 minutes of walking around the house and adjusting it before I was able to get it to fit comfortably. I would start by moving the bottom part which holds the butt of the gun as far back as you can(towards your back). Move it forward as needed until it feels comfortable. Then I'd start adjusting the length of this same part of the system at the same time. It may take a while to find the "sweet spot", but once you do I'm sure you'll find the gun bearer to be a great way to pack your rifle. Hope this helps.
Levi

Patrick
04-26-2003, 07:22 AM
Eyedoc--

Levi gives good tips. In addition, the single biggest "problem" to overcome in using the GB system is this: Don't "tighten" the pack's sternum strap! This pulls the rifle barrel towards the face. Our packs are designed so that the shoulder straps ride quite comfy in the "sweet spot" WITHOUT using the sternum strap. In fact the sternum strap is only there because the Market absolutely insists it be there. If you use it at all just buckle it loosely, just enough to keep the shoulder straps from feeling like they're slipping off the shoulder. If you are tightening the waistbelt enough you will have noticed that all the weight in the pack is on your waist...none on your shoulders. So. Use Levi's advice, plus back off on that sternum strap, or don't use it at all! You'll find that sweet spot for sure.

Huntsman22
04-26-2003, 06:19 PM