PDA

View Full Version : Tipis in the Pacific Northwest

SubDoc
03-14-2003, 06:45 PM
I am on the verge of ordering a 4 man tipi for bow season here in western Washington but I am concerned about the utility of the floorless design for later in the season when the rains start. Any one have input on this? Thanks!!

Dale Lindsley
03-15-2003, 12:54 PM
I have limited experience with a Paratipi in the rain. When pitched on the forest floor, it did fine. When pitched on hard packed dirt, it flooded. In the second case, the ground was so hard I couldn't drive large alumium gutter nails into it.

Ed C
03-15-2003, 04:03 PM
SubDoc

I have been hunting out of tents with no floors for 30 years. First wall tents now a 4 man ultralight. We used to ditch the wall tents if we needed to. I will ditch the tipi if I have to, but so far I haven't had to. No floor is the way to go. If you have a floor you bring mud, snow, water in with you then you have a lake. With the tipi you don't worry about that, you just come in fire up the stove and get dry. You'll love it.

Ed
P.S. What's a SubDoc?

Ed C
03-15-2003, 04:06 PM
I forgot be sure and fill the ditch in even if it's only a little one for the tipi.

razorsharp
03-16-2003, 11:20 PM
SD,

I have an eight-man and spent three days in the rain perched on fairly hard dirt and unlevel ground. No water issues. Even unsealed--some water came through but ran down the sides. Little if any came in underneath.
You're not asking but....I would recommend the 8-man unless you know what you're doing.

Good luck.

Call me Razorsharp

SubDoc
03-17-2003, 07:12 PM
Ed, I am a submarine Independent Duty Corpsman. When US submarines get underway they don't take a Dr. I am both the medical department and the radiation health officer. I came to this job after 8 years with the Fleet Marine Force as a combat medic.

Kevin
03-17-2003, 09:00 PM