PDA

View Full Version : Traditional vs. Modern Snowshoes

bigbore442001
01-26-2011, 07:46 PM
I would like to querry the wisdom of the fellow members of the board regarding a question on snowshoes.
After tommorrow, we should have more than three feet of snow in the local area. Recently I have been spending a lot of time on snowhoes and I have been thinking of getting a newer pair. I will be honest in that I have no experience with modern snowshoes. All of the time I spent tramping through the winter landscape has been on traditional wood and babiche or wood and nylon cord snowshoes. In fact I still have a set of snowshoes that belonged to my grandfather. I did relace them unknowingly ruining their antique value. Anways, that is snow melted away.

So I was wondering what type do you prefer? Right now I have a used pair that is undersized for me ( traditional) that belonged to my friend's late father. I like them but I do realize that a pair that matches my size( 265 lbs out of the shower) would equate to better floating on the snow.

I did see a set of Faber that is a cross between a modern and traditional snowshoe. It has a wood frame but has a synthetic decking. Anyways I would appreciate any input.

bark-eater
01-26-2011, 07:53 PM
The only ones I've used are the magnesium Army surplus ones. So far so good for me at #225 in powder, and while they do ice when they get wet, they can be de-iced with a rock.

BuckarooMedic
01-27-2011, 01:15 AM