PDA

View Full Version : Replacement line?

GlennGTR
12-16-2010, 10:49 PM
Will the new KU ultra lights be the replacement for standard Kifaru packs? Are the G2s going to be in continued production or eventually fazed out?

Fongman
12-17-2010, 01:01 AM
Patrick answered this in another thread FYI:

I wish I knew the answer to your question. Frankly, this is a huge step for my little company, and one that has consequences. We don't know what we're going to be building in the weeks and months ahead--our traditional packs or KU's, and what percentage of which. I can tell you I've been using my UL prototypes for many years whenever I was "solo", or with folks who were trustworthy on keeping mum about what I have been up to. That, for everything--backpacking up through the biggest, baddest long range hunts. I suppose that's an answer of sorts for you, meaning that I'd predict a big percentage of our production is going to be KU's.

As for who will still prefer the Cordura traditionals, I would predict they're going to be men who prefer absolute assurance of indestructability regarding their pack. All their virtues--and those virtues are plentiful--are still there. I have complete respect for that view, and we will still produce the packs they need to fulfill that need.

So we'll just have to see where this goes. A lot of fellows are telling me that the KU's change the whole market, and I can't argue with that assessment.

Mel
12-17-2010, 01:25 AM