PDA

View Full Version : Knife Sharpening

hammbone
09-15-2010, 06:08 PM
What do you knife experts use to keep your knives sharp. I've got a diamond rod and it work okay but I can't get a good sharp point with it. Can anyone help me out?

Thanks.

David in OR
09-15-2010, 06:38 PM
I'm not an expert, which is why I use the Lansky system for anything other than a Scandi grind.

Nowadays in the field I'm carrying Scandi grind blades and a small lightweight diamond plate (medium on one side and fine on the other). Even a putz like me can always have a sharp blade that way.

elmbow
09-15-2010, 08:05 PM
Lansky at home, diamond paddles in the field.

Songdog
09-15-2010, 08:09 PM
The Lansky and it's variants are pretty foolproof. I got the itch a number of years back to learn to sharpen freehand. It's not for everyone.

I use a DMT fine/extra fine diamond stone. A little dishsoap and water for lube. Finish on a thick piece of leather with a little green jeweler's rouge.

Kmassaro
09-15-2010, 08:30 PM
What kind of knife? There are brands out there that many like, but I have trouble getting them sharp. For me, the two easiest to sharpen are the Helleknife and the Swiss Army knives (Victorinox).

I can even get my McCroskey knife sharp using the Gerber steel, and that blade is very hard.

For me, it's the diamond paddles or the Gerber steel. The steel is excellent if you don't let the blade get too dull. Mine was given to my late father in 1968, and is still going strong.

elmbow
09-15-2010, 08:55 PM
Being able to hand sharpen is a good skill to own, I did it that way for years, still can, bur lansky is bulletproof and quick. I can touch a dozen kitchen knives and 3-4 utility blades in less than an hour.

DP
09-15-2010, 11:09 PM