PDA

View Full Version : advice needed - comparison between Navigator and ZXR

Jeelan
08-31-2009, 09:18 PM
hi guys

i'm a newbie here but been a Kifaru fan for a long time...

i recently received a 2008 stock ZXR which will be my new pack for trekking and bushwalking etc....

i also travel overseas a fair bit and i'm looking for a similar sized pack but one that is a panel loader for ease of access and packing etc and the most obvious pack that came to mind is the Navigator

Is there anyone here who's got a ZXR as well as a Navigator and can give me a quick run down between the two? i'm looking at the 2008 stock and the Navigator is listed as having 22inch stays whilst the ZXR has 23inch stays. Is this difference noticeable on the back?

finally, does anyone here travel with the Navigator? If so, how do you find it whilst travelling?

any opinions would be greatly appreciated

cheers
Jeelan

straps
09-01-2009, 12:20 AM
I own and use both (G1).

The ZXR has heavier straps and suspension.

The Navigator is a fairly lithe pack, compacts well and travels well. Still might be too big for carry-on, especially on smaller aircraft.

For travel, Marauder+E&E may be worth another look. Keep the main pack in the overhead, E&E under the seat. The Marauder hip belt is easily removable, which makes handling in crowded aircraft easier.

My .02, HTH

steveb
09-01-2009, 07:37 AM