PDA

View Full Version : How many guns do you need for bear defense?

CCH
07-28-2009, 07:27 AM
Nope, not really asking and trying to get another discussion going. Just thought this was interesting. I'm going to hazard a guess that the shotgun loads were birdshot of some sort. One tenacious little bear. In my house we only have to go for one item, if we have to "go" anywhere at all. ;)

http://www.denverpost.com/news/ci_12927288

bamboobow
07-28-2009, 07:50 AM
If I read it right, the already wounded bear took two shots to the head from a .45 and the officer needed to get the .223.... 9 shots to kill the 120 lb animal...

I have no bear experience living in the midwest so what can I say.

I sure will be on edge during my first hunt to a state with bears this fall. I imagine I won't sleep well and will hear every noise.
-
-

NH Hunter
07-28-2009, 08:10 AM
Bamboobow,

You'll be surprised how well you'll sleep when you're exhausted. Keep a clean camp and use common sense and you'll really enjoy being where the bears are.

Have a good hunt.

Mike.

CCH
07-28-2009, 08:20 AM
I wouldn't worry about it. I don't know where you're going but our per capita incidence of bears that are obviously on meth breaking into homes is fairly low. ;) And all the bear incidentsI've been seeing this year (here in Colorado) are in people's homes, not out in the back country. So I guess the point is you're better off getting out in the woods to get away from the bears than staying home.

disillusionedpatriot
07-28-2009, 08:44 AM
I sure will be on edge during my first hunt to a state with bears this fall. I imagine I won't sleep well and will hear every noise.

Just be sure to have a bright light and purchase a tag, problem solved.

kutenay
07-28-2009, 09:02 AM
I have three purpose-built or modded Grizzly guns and almost all of my 28 big game rifles are capable in this respect, given where I live, hunt and used to work.