PDA

View Full Version : New to Kirafu, need a pack

El Mac
06-08-2009, 04:09 PM
I'd like to get a pack for an upcoming deployment to Afghanistan. I'm new to Kirafu but understand they are top of the line gear. I see where there are some available '08 models now vs. having to wait for '09 gear to be built. Some questions for you knowledgable folks:

1) Is the '09 gear worth the wait? (i.e., deploy with current crap and wait for an overseas "Christmas" gift or look at whats available now?)
2) What model seems to be in favor for troops in the 'stan?

Thanks,
EM

ADK
06-08-2009, 05:44 PM
What will you be using it for? A patrol pack with your 1st and 2nd line gear or are you looking for a rucksack? There are people here who can help as they have been where you are going. You can also check out lightfighter.net, they have a crapload of info and informed members there who are BTDTs.

duckear
06-09-2009, 09:26 AM
If you go with a kifaru pack, call and tell them you are deploying and when.

IIRC, you will go to the front of the line, as you should.

straps
06-09-2009, 05:36 PM
Depends heavily on what you are doing and how you will get there. My sense is that meat-eater ops in the 'stan will be run further away from the FOBs, with more time away from the FOBs, and involve more movement, over longer distances, on foot. Makes my default suggestion an AG1.

My first Kifaru purchase was a Navigator and Scout setup (which evolved to a Pointman and Scout setup), and those are the packs I have always come back to. I used a Navigator in the 'stan and it functioned with the best attributes of an assault pack (with large capacity) and a ruck (that compacted down ALMOST to the size of an assault pack). Same for the Pointman I used in Iraq...