PDA

View Full Version : E&E vs Scout vs TG1

Snyper
03-18-2006, 10:34 AM
Hi all,

[Apologies if this has been posted before, but a quick search came up with no usable results.]

I'm looking for an E&E pack that I could use as a short hiking pack too. I know Kifaru do a specific E&E pack, but since I'm going to use this for day hikes too, I'm not 100% convinced it's going to be very comfy. Also, if I use it as an E&E pack, I'm a little worried that its going to flap around like a sheet in the wind if I ever have to peg it.

Basically, I'm looking for a pack that is comfy, stable, and able to take a 2l hydrocarrier (3l being preferable) as well as munchies, med kit and a basha, and be able to dock-and-lock to the bottom/back of a Zulu with quickly and easily (both on and off).

With this in mind, I've been looking at the Scout, Tailgunner 1 and the E&E to compare, but I honestly don't know what to go for, so I was hoping that you lot would be able to help, as I've had no experience with any of it other than reading stuff on here and on MM's website.

Thanks in advance.

ThePrepared_com
03-18-2006, 11:04 AM
Honestly I think the E&E may be a bit small for what you want. The TailGunner and Scout both have more room and a waistbelt to keep it from moving around to much.

copper
03-18-2006, 11:51 AM
The scout will offer you aluminum stays and a max of pals webbing for add-ons. If you are building upwards, this may be the handiest platform.

Woods Walker
03-18-2006, 12:08 PM
I was wondering if anyone used a scout for a day pack with an EMR. I know Snyper wants to use it with a Zulu. I like the idea of a small camp/hike pack. Was thinking E&E but now I am not so certain. Does the scout take a little pod on the bottom?

oktec60
03-18-2006, 05:40 PM
Snyper,
The TG1 may be a little small for what your wanting but the Scout is about perfect for what your after, in my opinion. BTW,I have and use both both.

Woods Walker,