PDA

View Full Version : Do I need a bivy sack?

lobs
05-30-2007, 01:55 PM
Hi Everyone....
I'm considering a supertarp to go along with my new Siwash for solo backcountry bowhunting in Eastern Oregon this Sept. I want something light and easy to pitch, but I need something that will stand up to serious all day downpours/snowstorms. I have no experience w. a single wall tent, and am wondering about the condensation issue. I will not be packing a wood stove. My question is, do I need a bivy sack with this set up? I use a WM down bag. Weight is a big issue in the kind of hunting I do, but obviously staying dry and safe are ultimately the most important concerns. In the past I have used only an Outdoor Research bivy sac, but in serious weather it doesnt keep me dry/comfortable.

The 3 options I'm considering are:
1) supertarp w no bivy sac
2) supertarp w bivy
3) light-weight double wall bivy tent for 1 person.

Thanks in advance for your feedback,

Steve

poel
05-30-2007, 02:30 PM
The tarp/ bivy combo is light and versatile. The tarp can give you a place to hang out in most precip and keep things generally dry. But there will usually be some condensation and particularly for for blowing snow, I'd want a bivy. A small,rock fireplace can be snugged in close to the tarp and provide significant warmth and drying.

Songdog
05-30-2007, 02:58 PM
I use a ST with three different WM down bags and don't use the OR bivy that I have. It's much drier in CA that OR but the ST is large enough to keep you away from the sides and unless you have an annex that is closed off you won't get condensation at a level that will be a problem. The open front will vent that even in a very humid area from what I've seen.

I've also found that the DWR finish on my WM bags works quite well for the brush up against the tent, etc. Doesn't help too much for a complete dunking but it works well for what it was designed to do.

hunting1
05-30-2007, 04:51 PM
Big Agnes Seedhouse under 3-lbs is my suggestion.